top of page

A Reflection of the Process of Building My Own Kydex Press

1. Which materials did you use to create your press?

For this project we were asked to build our own Kydex Press out of wood. So in keeping with the class I did just that and used 3/4In plywood and 2In x 4In wood. When it came time to pick the hinges for the top of the press, I decided to go with some smaller ones rather than gate or exterior door hinges. This kept them small enough to fit the 8In width the foam material came in. Finally, I did purchase deck screws and used them to not only assemble the base but to attach the hinge. Hinges usually come with screws that are small and using those may result in the press breaking during the process.


2. Which type of clamping method or hinged design keeps your mold secure while pressing the form into place?

I used smaller hinges with an odd design that has one rounded side and a spike shape to the other side. The reason I chose these was because I figured the pressure from pressing may dig in with this shape hinge rather than slide out of alignment after a few operations. I also used the deck screws to attach them to the base to ensure they don’t rip out under the pressure of the press. The clamps I am using are basic Irwin Quick Grips instead of the vice style that thread tight. The reason I decided to use Quick Grips is because I want pressure fast to shape the Kydex before it begins to harden.


3. How durable do you believe your design will be in the long run?

I believe the wood press I made will last for some time because took into consideration the grain of the wood when measuring and cutting my pieces. I figured that if the grain of the wood was horizontal then the pressure placed on it by the clamps may eventually crack the plywood. Granted, I can't see the grain of the other pieces that layer the plywood but I still made sure that my top and bottom layers had vertical grain so the wood would more likely bend instead of crack.

Comentários


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page