top of page

Budget-Friendly Tips for Crafting Your Own Rifle Stock from Scratch

Seeing as I am just getting started building a new rifle stock and I have a very limited budget and skill level, I may need to think of a few things I can do to save money but still get decent results. The first thing I would hope most people would consider when just starting off is the amount of time and attention to detail necessary to complete this task right. Putting tools and costs aside for the moment, this type of work will take some time and if not done correctly then you will need to start over and eat the cost of your mistakes. However, since we are on the topic of mistakes, it is important to also note that if this is your first time ever working on a new stock then it is okay to make mistakes. It can be part of the learning process, but it may be smart to practice a few times before offering a customer base this type of service.

So, let us work on a budget and say I cannot find inletting black or that it is just too expensive. Well, the course reading says I can achieve the same result using a mix of lamp black oil paint and petroleum jelly, both of which I already have because I am a father of three. Next you could use T-handle screws which I do recommend but it is important that when you use them, you do not crank them too tightly because it could damage the stock and result in false readings. Thinking about the budget again, I would probably just use the screws that come with the rifle. Not ideal but remember, I am being cheap. I do think barrel inletting tools, chisels, and gouges are important for a great fit so I may splurge and get a good set of those but to wrap up my work it would probably be on the cheap again and I would likely just use a few grits of sandpaper.


Resources

Sonoran Desert Institute. “Wood for Gunstocks.” Customizing & Woodworking, Sonoran Desert

Institute, 202.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page