top of page

Conduct outside research into one or more options to purchase a “mini-lathe”.


1. First, describe the lathe you reviewed. Discuss it’s capabilities, set up, and cost.

The metal lathe I chose to review this week is the Eastwood Benchtop Mini Metal Lathe - 7 Inch x 12 Inch. As it mentions, this is a benchtop lathe capable of cutting different metals and has a 7inch x 12inch working area. This unit cost about $1,018.99 and has many features and some amazing reviews. To start it is a manageable size to fit most home workshops. It also comes with both inside and outside 3 jaw chuck sets and a few HSS cutting tools. Setup is also quite easy compared to full size metal lathes. Just find a lever surface and mount your base, clean and oil the working parts, check calibration and off you go. Finally, it has an Auto-feed and selectable gear train component used for precision cutting and threading work and its 3/4HP motor plugs it into a 120-volt power current avoiding the need to rewire the outlet of your work space.


2. Based on the types of jobs you would perform with it, do you see a “mini-lathe” as a good investment, or would you rather “farm out” machine work to a dedicated shop? Why?

Now this will be hard for me to say because I hate asking others for help and if possible, I would always rather do the work myself but I think I would probable go the route of “farming out” the machine work with a dedicated machine shop. Its not that I don’t want to spend the money because this is pretty cheap considering its capabilities and its not like I don’t want to learn the machine because I already have a working knowledge of the lathe. I do see purchasing a lathe for your shop as a good investment but for me what it boils down to is usable space and the frequency at which I would end up using this machine. Because I don’t own a space with a ton of counter space and taking into consideration that this machine should be mounted in place for operation, I don’t think I can sacrifice that amount of space for a machine I don’t think I would need very often.


Resources

Comentarios


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page