top of page

Considering the time, and expense that goes into accurizing a firearm where do you draw the line?

I tell people constantly that you don’t need a $3,000 rifle, you need a $500 rifle and about $2,500 worth of training. If I hand the customer a rifle, I know is capable of tight groups at long ranges and they can’t shoot at least a 1-inch group at 50 yards then I usually recommend they take some rifle training and get back to the basics. Something as simple as their breathing could be all that they are doing wrong and a few classes later they can achieve the hits they want. The amount of time, work and expense that goes into accurizing a rifle amounts to wasted effort in the hands of a novice shooter. I don’t recommend someone buy a precision rifle to learn basic rifle shooting because you’re going to beat that rifle up during your training days and possibly destroy a great firearm. Most precision rifle barrels have a life span on how many rounds can be fired out of them and if you work through this training phase with this type of rifle then by the time you’re a precision shooter, your rifle won’t be. Learn with a decently priced rifle but still consider a durable, quality one. Once you can outperform that rifles capabilities then it may be time to invest in your “Long-Range Nail-Driver”. If a customer wants me to create a precision rifle for them then I am going to. I am not usually in the business of turning customers away so I will take the sale, but I may want to talk to the customer more to determine their level of experience. If I can determine that their capabilities are not up to the standard needed to operate the precision rifle accurately then I will attempt to get even more business off the customer by offering classes to help them better understand how to use their new rifle.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page