top of page

Customer brings you a Benelli Vinci and explains that it will not feed shells.

1. How would you make this firearm safe to begin working on? Starting with the safety selector being pushed into a safe position and keeping the firearm pointed in a safe direction I would inspect the feeding tube for the presence of ammunition. Then I would use the bolts charging handle and locking it to the rear I would physically and visually inspect the chamber for ammunition. Once I was sure it was free of ammunition I would continue with my work.

2. What procedures or processes would you follow to eliminate user error or ammunition as the cause of the malfunction? Making sure the firearm is held tightly in the pocket of the shoulder of the shooter ensures the inertia of the fired shell is transferred to the bolt and not lost in a loose grip. I could test fire myself or watch the owner shoot to determine if this was the issue. Next I would try a few different shot types and weights to see if the firearm just dislikes a particular round.

3. Note: Inertia-driven shotguns have multiple intricate parts that can cause a failure to feed if they are damaged or bent, and it would be impractical for you to list them all here. For this assignment, list one possible part that might cause this malfunction.

The carrier or elevator bar that is supposed to take the next round from the feeding tube to the barrel could be to blame. If the shell being fired works and the shooter is doing everything correct but it is not cycling the next round it is possible that the lifter is not pushing up on the shell to chamber the next shot.

4. If the part you identified above needed replacement, where might you find a replacement and how much would this component cost? I was able to find a new Benelli Carrier on Midwestgunworks website for $57.00. 5. What sub-assembly does the component that you replaced belong to in this firearm? This part falls into the trigger group assembly category.

6. What test(s) might you perform after making such a repair and what do you hope to learn by doing this? I would start with snap caps to ensure the carrier was lifting the shell as intended. Once I was sure this works I would take the rounds I know to work well with this firearm and I would test fire on a live fire facility and see if it cycles correctly thus fixing the customers stated issue.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page