top of page

Describe the M203 (make,model,action type) and share the resources you used to find the information.

The Lewis Machine & Tool M203 Grenade Launcher. Though it falls into the category of a destructive device and required me to get a tax stamp from the ATF to own, the AFT list this as an “NFA Firearm” so I believe it meets the criteria of a firearm. As I have already listed the make and model of “firearm” I will add that it has been in service since 1969 and is a single-shot, breech-loaded, pump action (sliding barrel), shoulder-fired weapon that fires multiple types of 40MM rounds.


Before anyone ask, no I do not have any live grenades for this “firearm” and would not even know where to fire something like that here in the states. I will be reaching out to LMT directly for the owner’s manual on this one but in doing some research I was able to find the Army’s Field Manual that has a ton of information on this weapon system and its uses. One of the biggest challenges I ran into was finding an exploded view of this particular weapon system, but I am sure this is because the Army and ATF REALLY do not want the general public to know the ins and outs of a grenade launcher.


While it is a lot easier to find and purchase a 37MM Launcher, I was working for an FFL who happened to pick this up and I could not pass on the opportunity to own the actual M203 40MM Grenade Launcher. Let me know if you think this was a bad choice.

Commentaires


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page