top of page

Do you see enough added value from aligning and lapping a scope to include that process?

Now that I understand the importance of lapping and the difference it can make when mounting an optic, I will definitely complete this process on more of my own in the future. As a matter of fact, the AR-15 I used to complete this project was one of my own so I guess you can say I have already started doing this to some of my firearms. Now regarding my position on offering this service at the facility where I currently work, I do see the added value and would consider offering this service to customers. The question becomes, what customers understand the importance of this and are willing to pay the added cost of having this done. Some customers just want to toss an optic on so they can go shoot and have no clue what lapping is and why they would want it done. Anyone willing to have a conversation about the process of lapping scope rings and figuring out if they can or even should do this may begin to understand why they may want to do it or at least know why they cant in some cases. In any case it think it is smart business practice to be able to offer multiple different ways to complete the work. Telling the customer, I'll charge $15 to slap the optic on and $20 to zero it but then offering a full service job and saying for $X I will mount your rings, check center and lap them if needed, install your optic and ensure level, and zero it for you lets the customer know that the time it is taking to complete the work and the quality of work being done is vastly different then the quick slap it on and here you go type work you see a lot of.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page