top of page

I have heard of gunsmiths that will pin the grip safety in a collapsed position, would you do this?

Thanks for reaching out with your question as to whether I would consider pinning the grip safety on a 1911. Though I do see this pinning method as a much more professional way to achieve this as apposed to the use of a rubber band, I would really need to contemplate whether I would or not. On the one hand, I would have individuals sign waivers that wont make me liable for anything done with the firearm or the type of work that was done, and the 1911 does still have a safety selector switch even if I override the grip safety, there is still a large part of me that screams not to do this. If the issue is that the customer has trouble activating it correctly then my first thought is usually they need some training on the correct way to grip a firearm or a parts swap can solve the issue. Tough question though and I thank you for that.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page