top of page

Is It Worth Repairing a J.C. Higgins Model 20-Gauge Shotgun with a Split Stock?

For the purposes of this conversation, a customer brings in a J.C. Higgins Model 20-gauge shotgun in poor condition with a split in the stock by the grip. This is no good as this is one of the places that needs to be the toughest, especially considering it is a shotgun. My options are to either repair it or replace it and I think we know what option is easier. However, I always leave the choosing to the client so they cannot say I chose the more expensive option so I could make more money off of them.

Unfortunately, some things can cost more to fix than they are actually worth. Once I have determined the problem, I will usually look the make and model up on the Bluebook of Gun Values as I hold a subscription with them and use it regularly in my job as operations manager at the range I work at. They not only show up to date information on the current value of the firearm but the values history that shows any increases and decreases in value and when this occurred. After finding the guns’ value I would begin to figure out what is needed to repair or replace the broken item and how much time it would take to finish the work. This helps me factor in the total cost of both the fix and the labor and then you add on the business profits margin and now you're ready to reach out to the customer.

Now armed with the knowledge of the issue, options to repair or replace the broken stuff, the cost of each option, and the value of the firearms being worked, you can begin talks with the client. Having a number of different options and costs readily available for the customer is a professional way to approach any business transactions. Some people would pay anything to repair a family heirloom while others may see the cost as more than its worth and call it quits but it is always best to let the client make that decision.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page