top of page

Scope Sizes, Adjustability and an Introduction to what Parallax is when shooting

1. When is a 50 mm objective lens preferable to a smaller lens? When is it not? Why?

A 50 mm objective lens is preferable to a smaller lens when the shooter needs a wide field of view. In combat I may need to see what is going on in a wide range of areas and a 50mm objective lens helps me achieve that. Using a smaller lens may help me focus on one specific target but without that wider field of view I may not have seen the innocent person crossing into my bullets flight path until it is too late. If I were just target shooting, the wider field of view a 50mm lens gives me may not be needed because I’m not worried about what the shooter next to me is hitting.


2. The size of a scope tube has more to do with adjustability than light-allowance. Explain.

The size of a scope tube has more to do with adjustability than light-allowance because the size of the scope tube has nothing to do with the amount of light that is allowed. In fact, the reason you may want a larger scope tube would be to have the ability to make more adjustments or have more travel in the erector assembly. If I know I’m doing some long-range shooting and the caliber of bullet I’m firing has significant drop at distance, I may want a larger scope tube so I can make a larger adjustment in elevation when firing.


3. Explain ‘parallax’ as though you were introducing the term to someone who has no previous understanding of the concept.

Now most telescoping optics have a degree of parallax when looking through the lens at a target. For those who don’t know what parallax is, it is when the object you are looking at appears to move or change position as the shooters point of view changes. Motion parallax can be perceived as an object or cross hairs moving as the shooter moves their head or eye position to adjust for a shot. This type of motion parallax is more noticeable in higher magnification scopes.

Comentarios


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page