top of page

There’s an adage that shooters should always purchase the best scope they can afford but should they

Because of my experience helping shooters with their telescoping sights, I would say you don’t always need the best optics on the market. You should be purchasing what is best suited for the caliber of firearm you are mounting it to. Crimson Trace and Leopold make outstanding scopes, but I wouldn’t be mounting one meant for a rim fire to my 300 WIN MAG. Knowing the ballistics of the caliber I’m shooting and what optic best suits my caliber is probably the best way to go about this. Now with that being said, I recommend you don’t buy scopes with tons of features you have no understanding of. If looking through your scope feels like a laser guidance system on an F-22 Raptor and you have no idea what you’re looking at, then it may be time to start leaning the features or switching to a simple reticle you can understand.

I have always offered a zeroing service at the range for those who have no idea how to go about doing this. I keep it relatively cheap and can usually get it done in the first 10 rounds. This means that I too have used a few scopes I had no real understanding of. Thermal scopes have become popular here in Texas because of coyote and hog problems and these can be relatively easy if you know what you’re doing. I have shot thermal that ranges in price from $4,000 to $14,000 and if I’m being totally honest, there was not a ton different between the two systems. I have zeroed telescoping sights on anything from a Barret to a Ruger 10/22 and when the appropriate sight is mounted to the firearm It zeros well and holds true for a long time. My advice, buy cheap buy twice so don’t buy junk. However, you shouldn’t need to spend more on the sight than you did a firearm.

Comentarios


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page