top of page

What are the requirements for importing the firearms your business wants to import?

What firearms would your business import?

If I were to go through the trouble of importing firearms then I am going to look for either a large surplus of firearms for cheap so I can increase my profits and build an inventory, or I would be looking for the incredibly rare items that do not jump my inventory by much but should hold healthy profits. In my experience, gun shops follow one of a few business models and that can be either a volume of cheaper sales or fewer firearms of real quality that hold value. Both usually cost a bit to achieve but in this aspect of business I feel it is important to know the people you’re selling to. If they like volume, then stock up but if they like quality then do your homework and cherry pick only the best.


What are the requirements for importing the firearms your business wants to import?

In order to start importing firearms I would need to make sure that my FFL is either a type 08 or type 11 and if importing anything other than sporting shotguns, ammunition for these types of shotguns or parts for sporting shotguns, then I would also need to be registered with the ATF in accordance with the AECA or Arms Export Control Act. As an individual with an FFL type 08 or type 11 I can only import firearms once I “obtain an approved ATF F 5330.3A (Form 6, Part I)”allowing me to do so and once I begin importing them they “must be marked in accordance with the provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 923(i) and 27 CFR § 478.92.”A failure to do so may result in legal trouble and the firearms will not pass through customs.


Resource

“Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.” Firearms - Guides - Importation & Verification of Firearms, Ammunition and Implements of War - Types of Importers | Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, www.atf.gov/firearms/firearms-guides-importation-verification-firearms-ammunition-and-implements-war-types. Accessed 31 May 2023.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page