top of page

What business licenses and permits are required to open/start up a firearms business

Conduct research and find out what business licenses and permits are required to open/start up a firearms business in your state/location.

So, to conduct research and find out what business licenses and permits are required to open/start up a firearms business in my state/location I will need to look up business licenses and permits for Killeen Texas which is considered Bell County Texas. In doing so I jumped on Texas.Gov and found a PDF on just this and found what I needed starting on page 65. This section covers guns, firearms and shooting ranges and list the forms, permits and environmental regulations that must be met in order to start a firearms business in my area. Specifically, it provides me with links to the Texas DPS site to get a firearms instructor license, a link to the ATF Licensing and permits page where I can find more information on what is needed for the federal firearms license, and multiple links to Industrial and Hazardous Waste Regulations so I can meet the environmental standards needed for a live fire facility.


Begin to summarize what you have written about for the business you have selected, whether it is an actual business or hypothetical business.

Taking from my past experience working at and managing firearms businesses, I too will be opening a limited liability company that has a federal firearms license and a live fire facility that is open to the public for general recreation. This can be a huge undertaking if you are starting from scratch and learning things as you go. Luckily, I have a number of years’ experience running firearms facilities from around the country with two very different business models to begin creating my own.

In managing different facilities, I took notes on everything from what is expected from a customer advocate to the legal requirements necessary to operate legally and efficiently. I have worked with teams of 12 to make an already popular facility even more so and I have run facilities with a total staff of 4 to make a dying company Known and profitable again. Having worked on both sides of the fence I have learned that every business needs to account for change and be ready to pivot a business model to tailor the needs of the community and continue operating at its peak efficiency.


Bibliography

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page