top of page

What Type of Wood is Best for Making a Durable and Attractive Gunstock?

To start my hypothetical gunstock project, I need to select a type of wood that is durable and strong but one that still has a tight good-looking grain to it. So, I think I may go with the popular choice of many and use a walnut. I have chosen this because walnut is known for its strength, stability, and attractive grain patterns and there are many types to choose from so this choice still allows me to shop around a bit. Also, walnut can be relatively easy to work with, allowing me to create some intricate designs and shaping without excessive effort. Finally, this type of wood can be resistant to shock and wear, which are important qualities for any gunstock.

As far as the finish I have decided to use for this stock, I think I have decided on using an epoxy type of finish. This choice was made for a number of reasons but mainly because it is one medium, I have some experience in the past with. This type of finish is a resin type coating that provides a moisture resistant, super-hard finish and gives the stock and its grain a high gloss finish. I have been known to be rough with some of my firearms and this beautiful finish is hard enough to help protect my stock from the abuse I will likely do to it. I understand it is not unbreakable, but this does give me the best chance at longevity. I would say that the only downside to my finish being epoxy it that it can take a while to get applied and dried compared to other finishes and that checkering is out of the question unless using power tools, but this is the sacrifice I have decided to make. What do you think about my choices?

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page