top of page

When creating thermoformed holsters for sale to the general public, what would your set-up be like?

The funny thing is that I have already started selling thermoformed holsters to the public at the live fire facility I currently work out of. Yes, someone who has just learned this type of holster making and has already bought more equipment than probably what’s really needed can immediately begin selling their work and I became that guy because of the course I took with SDI. I converted an old storage room in the facility I worked at and then I had a space to begin my work as a gunsmith. It had a fair bit of counter space, but the room could have been larger as I planed on investing in some larger equipment. I have not built the confidence yet to begin offering custom press work, but I have already jumped into making and selling Kydex holsters for our most popular firearms. Once I knew that this was something I could really do I purchased equipment like a rivet press, professional steel plate press, scroll saw, belt sander and Dremel tool to make the process even easier and with these items I can work at an almost continuous rate to produce a lot of products. However, as I am an operations manager, firearms instructor, Chief RSO, gunsmith, full time student and father of 3, I cannot work at the scale I would like to. For me and the business this is a way of turning a profit with an extra few minutes every day. Like anything else in life, the more you do something the better you get at it and investing in better tools and more materials only aids in the process of learning this new skill. Not only is this something I considered doing, but it’s also something I decided to do and recommend others consider doing as well.

Comments


Looking For Carry Insurance?

USCCA_Author_Photo.jpg

Click Here to Join the USCCA

24/7 Defense of Your Gun Rights

national-rifle-association-of-america-nra-vector-logo.png

Click Here to Join the NRA

Want to Learn More About Gunsmithing?
download.jpg
Click Here to Checkout the Sonoran Desert Institute

Subscribe Today!

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

bottom of page